Annual Events

Norwalk Oyster Festival Sept.,Litchfield House Tour July, Jazz Fest Aug., Bethlehem Christmas Fair Dec., Bald Eagle Observation Dec.-March, Maple Sugaring & Daffodils March/April, Country Fairs Sept./Oct.

Architecture – Contemporary, Victorian, Empire & more - absolutely stunning

Hotchkiss Fyler House Museum, Torrington. torringtonhistoricalsociety.org.

Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museum, Norwalk. lockwoodmathewsmansion.com.

Philip Johnson Glass House, New Canaan. philipjohnsonglasshouse.org.

Art & Artists – Our museums abound with creativity

Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum, Ridgefield. aldrichart.org.

Bush-Holley House, Cos Cob. hstg.org.

Weir Farm National Park, Wilton. nps.gov/wefa.

Amusement Parks & Zoo – Fun for the young and young at heart

Lake Compounce Family Theme Park, Bristol. lakecompounce.com.

Quassy Amusement Park, Middlebury. quassy.com.

Connecticut's Beardsley Zoo, Bridgeport. beardsleyzoo.org.

Birding – Winging it

Audubon Greenwich, Greenwich. http://greenwich.audubon.org.

Sharon Audubon Center, Sharon. sharon.audubon.org.

Bald Eagle Observation, Southbury. firstlightpower.com.

Culinary - Restaurants galore for every budget. visitwesternct.com.

Cooking with Adrienne, New Milford. adriennerestaurant.com.

Sweet Maria's, Waterbury. sweet-marias.com.

The Silo Cooking School at Hunt Hill Farm, New Milford. hunthillfarmtrust.org.

Entertainment – Being so close to NYC has many advantages

Infinity Music Hall & Bistro, Norfolk. infinityhall.com.

Thomaston Opera House, Thomaston. landmarkcommunitytheatre.org.

Palace Theater, Waterbury. palacetheaterct.org.

Warner Theatre, Torrington. warnertheatre.org.

Curtain Call, Stamford. curtaincallinc.com.

Square One, Stratford. Squareonetheatre.com.

Stamford Center for the Arts, Stamford. scalive.org.

Westport Country Playhouse, Westport. westportplayhouse.org.

Fall Foliage National Geographic has called Litchfield Hills one of the 50 best places in the US for a scenic drive and Yankee Magazine has named Kent the best town in New England for Fall Foliage. For coastal beauty take a drive along Connecticut's gold coast for unforgettable vistas. Check out our website for driving tours visitwesternct.com.

Gardens – Be inspired by our elegant historic gardens

Bellamy-Ferriday House & Garden, Bethlehem. ctlandmarks.org.

Glebe House Museum & Gertrude Jekyll Garden, Woodbury. theglebehouse.org.

White Flower Farm, Litchfield. whiteflowerfarm.com.

Bartlett Arboretum & Gardens, Stamford. bartlettarboretum.org.

Historic Treasures – Discover history that comes alive

Institute for American Indian Studies, Washington. iaismuseum.org.

Keeler Tavern Museum, Ridgefield. keelertavernmuseum.org.

Tapping Reeve House and Law School, Litchfield. litchfieldhistoricalsociety.org.

Wilton Historical Society & Heritage Museum, Wilton. wiltonhistorical.org.

Museums – Explore our rich heritage and amazing collections

Barnum Museum, Bridgeport. barnum-museum.org.

Bruce Museum, Greenwich. brucemuseum.org.

Fairfield Museum and History Center, Fairfield. fairfieldhs.org.

Danbury Museum & Marion Anderson Studio, Danbury. danburymuseum.org.

Mattatuck Museum, Waterbury. mattatuckmuseum.org.

New England Carousel Museum, Bristol. thecarouselmuseum.org.

On The Rails – Enjoy a ride on a vintage railroad

Danbury Railway Museum, Danbury. danburymuseum.org.

Naugatuck Railroad,Thomaston. rmne.org.

On Long Island Sound – Ocean breezes, lighthouses and seafaring lore

Maritime Aquarium at Norwalk, South Norwalk. maritimeaquarium.org.

Captain’s Cove Seaport, Bridgeport. captainscoveseaport.com.

Sheffield Island Lighthouse & Ferry, South Norwalk. seaport.org.

SoundWaters Coastal Education Center, Stamford. soundwaters.org.

Religious – Find a refreshing retreat

Lourdes in Litchfield Shrine Grotto, Litchifeld. shrinect.org.

Wisdom House Retreat Center & Labyrinth, Litchfield. wisdomhouse.org.

Shopping- Our shops are an adventure unto themselves

Elephant's Trunk Flea Market, New Milford. etflea.com.

Woodbury Pewter Factory Outlet, Woodbury. woodburypewter.com.

SoNO, Norwalk.

Wineries Enjoy a taste of CT wine at one of our 12 vineyards located amid spectacular scenery. visitwesternct.com.

Yankee Ingenuity – Clocks, locks, and antique machinery…oh my

American Clock & Watch Museum, Bristol. clockandwatchmuseum.org.

Connecticut Antique Machinery Association Museum, Kent. ctamachinery.com.

Lock Museum of America, Plymouth. lockmuseumofamerica.org.

Timexpo: The Timex Museum, Waterbury. timexpo.com